RSS

Musings

19 May

Well, unless you’ve been living under a rock (1) your probably aware of the upcoming 7th Edition 40k release.

40kReleasesENG_Slot1
I’ve read up on it since, just out of curiosity, and there are a fair few that are rage-quitting gaming because of it.
This always puzzles me(2), especially the ones I’ve read that state they have been playing Most of my adult life as they have a sizeable collection of mini’s etc. and have flatly stated that they are not playing 40k or any GW games any more.
But then, reading further I can see they tend to be tournament players. A lot of who (3) seem to get an army for a specific tournament, before selling it and buying a new one.
So, a light dawned.

index

Unlike myself, and other out there they don’t tend to play with friends, or just for giggles (Heroic last stand type games anyone?) but just to be the ‘best’.

So, instead of just needing to pick up a copy of the new rules there seeing their uber-tweaked tournament list potentially getting ‘nerfed’ (4) and becoming ‘unplayable’ now.

In other words, they can’t rely on the cookie cutter list they have working anymore and may have to… *gasp*…. learn the strengths & weaknesses of army they are using.

This takes time, and effort, and a willingness to lose (5). Something people seem to be missing nowadays.
I’ve also seen the argument about the price of the new rulebook, with people stating that they can pick up a starter set for other manufacturers mini’s for less.
Well yes, you can. But then, who do you play against? If there’s no-one in the club you can get to play it, you may as well have not bothered, and in all honesty, over the years I’ve seen many sci-fi and fantasy wargames briefly surface then sink into nothingness again.

Some of it has been due to the ‘fad’ effect (6). Others it’s been down to the quality of the minis, or the rules as almost without exception, they have tied you to the specific manufacturer’s miniatures.
The current game I’m seeing bounced around a lot at the moment is “X-wing”. Looks nice, even takes advantage of a massively popular setting.

But if the license is pulled? Well, ever tried finding anything from the Babylon 5 starship combat game nowadays?

But price-wise it’s a moot point. If you want something, you’ll save up for it, or build up to it gradually.

An example of this was the other week, when I was running around in my dwarf kit at Fools & Heroes. I worked out that I was wearing (roughly) £700 quids worth of stuff. And that was one character, admittedly some parts were generic and had been recycled through a few characters, but the point is I’d built it up over about 2 years. Not all at once.

I’m currently building kit for a new character I’m starting at Lorien Trust’s Gathering later this year – something I’ve been doing since early last year now. A bit at a time.
This ties back into some of my earlier posts – if you can only afford a few things at a time, play with what you have, you don’t have to use a specific sized force to have fun games. Small, squad level skirmishes can be fun as well (7)

Which, eventually brings me to the point(8) of this post, and it’s one I’ve said before and likely will say again because I’m going to keep screaming it out at people.
Tournaments are not the only way to play. There is no “One True Way [tm]” (9) to play any game.
Screaming about how you won’t play because things have changed will achieve nothing, and just add to the general level of noise (11) on the internet.

Post what you’ve painted/made, games you’ve played, plans you have for things to build, house rules and scenarios. These are what make for interesting reading, and in some cases inspiration (12).
That said, I’m planning on updating with a load of pics soon, of what I’ve been painting recently, and, if I remember to write them down, some scenarios for 40k & fantasy.

In the meantime, I’ve finally got around to uploading the basic houserules we use here for 40k and fantasy:

warhammer house rules.

warhammer 40k house rules.

Ttfn
Ady

Avatar.jpeg

 

 

 

 


  1. Yeah, I’d missed the rumours etc. on this, because I don’t follow all the various boards etc. Plus I’ve not done much in the way of painting/gaming for the last few months, what with working myself silly making props for Springfest.
  2. No longer surprises me. Probably because I’m a wee bit jaded about a lot of people that make the most noise on the ‘net
  3. From when I used to dabble with tournaments and reading t’forums etc.
  4. I hate that phrase.
  5. So far my new night gobbo army is at 100% loss rate… But I’ve never failed to have a laugh, and come back “Wiv anuvver cunnin’ plan”… Just to watch it spiral down the u-bend again 
  6. Can’t count how many pirate type games I saw come out around the release of Pirates of the Caribbean. Bit tricky finding them now…
  7. Especially if you waive the ‘Squad coherency’ limits, and the ‘Squad must all fire at same target’ – effectively treat each member as a separate squad.
  8. I think….
  9. Except Bacon(10)
  10. And Grumpycat
  11. Yes, I know I’m effectively doing this…
  12. Case in point – My obliterator conversions, inspired by Big Jim over at Galaxy in Flames.
 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 19, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
